Calling for Thunderstorms

The National Weather Service was calling for thunderstorms in the vicinity of Stepford today, so my wife suggested I stay home with her and Squally-Boy. Drove to the hardware store this morning to buy four metric bolts and some washers to use when installing back-bands in the RZ9-96, bought a small bottle of Gorilla Glue for one of the small antique Klepper paddles that came with the antique Klepper sail-rig I’ve got, and some cheap garden gloves.

On the way home I remembered Jack-And-The-Beanstalk, so I stopped at a used car lot and inspected the 1989 Ford Econoline Falcon van conversion with matching trailer I’ve admired for two or three months. The lot’s trying to sell it for a retired Marine Corps pilot. The ultimate car-camping machine – stove, refrigerator, sink, toilet, standing room, loft bed above the front seats, and a bed in back, awning, generator, big air conditioner on the roof so you can sleep cool. With today’s gas prices, the old gentleman will be lucky to sell it, although it looks in good condition. I didn’t buy it.

Back home and moved a pile of bricks left behind after the decrepit red shed was torn down and removed.

Mowed for the third time this season, then ran the line-trimmer. Although the buttercups are no longer in bloom, a number of other things are. With the exception of small violets, equally small yellow somethings, dandelions, and the buttercups, nearly everything in the yard blooms white.

Something pink was blooming in the front yard. I snapped a picture of it, however it didn’t turn out well. I’m disappointed I got the focus wrong on the rightmost picture above. My wife said she saw rabbits in the yard during February and early March, so this year I will refrain from spreading pesticide to kill the grubs that feed the moles that tunnel the earth beneath the yard that I must mow. I was surprised when she said she’d seen the rabbits, because on walks I have seen red foxes, and I’m not sure what, but some predator has been keeping the squirrel population down – hardly see them hereabouts.

After the yard work, I assembled the Einer-68 preparatory to mounting atop my car for the first time. Its frame is beautifully symmetric, and it seems a shame to cover it with the worn and faded skin that makes a kayak of it. The PVC hull is supple in the warmer weather, therefore easier to handle. I’m planning to keep the boat assembled in order to facilitate impromptu paddles, because I’m more likely to use the boat of an afternoon or early morning if I don’t have to spend full 50 minutes assembling and rigging it.

Ralph Hoehn suggested this boat doesn’t require a cradle or foam blocks arrangement for cartopping, so I cinched it down with straps that came with the Folbot cart I bought for the Square-Stern I mentioned in my previous post (it didn’t work with that boat, but we sometimes use it with the RZ-96). Also tried out the Yakima bow and stern tie-downs I purchased week before last. Everything seemed to work, and I drove out to Woods Reservoir to see how the silver car handled with a boat on the roof as opposed to in the trunk. Noticed slight difference in handling and pickup, but nothing much. On a windy day, handling may be more severely affected.

Maybe I’ll paddle tomorrow afternoon; the National Weather Service is calling for thunderstorms again. It never did storm today, only a light rain fell around 7:00 am.

Leave a Reply

