Context

A few posts back, I used a couple of marginal images I took from a colored-pencil and ink drawing I did a number of years ago, while I was still living in West Louisville and attending seminary, if memory serves. While working at Frankfort Avenue Shell, I got to know a woman who dressed hair at a nearby salon. At the time, although older than my own years, I was still naive enough not to recognize drug addiction in someone who wished to keep the sickness a secret. We were never close enough for the chaos to spill over much into my own life.

When I knew her, she was prettier than I was able to depict. The reservoirs along Frankfort Avenue in the Crescent Hill neighborhood of East Louisville. I think the moon turned out pretty well.

Leave a Reply

