Stayed Up Late

A blessed event - not a new baby, new boat, or paid day off, but still noteworthy, and good

A blessed event - not a new baby, new boat, or paid day off, but still noteworthy, and good

I had some time to flex-off, to use the jargon of the office, yesterday morning, so I drove to the UPS hub and picked up the new Power Mac G5.  One of those deliveries that required signature, and who knew when the truck would arrive at our house with the new machine.  I didn’t want to have to wait until next week sometime to get started using it.  MacOfAllTrades sent it in packaging that made me hope they’d made some sort of error and sent me an even better machine than the one I’d ordered, but they’re just opportunistic packagers.  It was all I could do to defer gratification and go on in to work after.

Christov's Laboratory - Using Apple's settings transfer utility after booting the old machine in Target Disk Mode

Christov's Laboratory - Using Apple's settings transfer utility after booting the old machine in Target Disk Mode

Last night, messing around with the new computer, applying four or five rounds of SoftwareUpdate, I didn’t get to bed until around eleven.  Late for me.  I’m thinking through how to get the information from a second hard drive into the new machine – Target Disk only acquires the boot drive of the connected machine.

Probably will network the two machines via ethernet after connecting the MDD to the Windows sandbox’s monitor, then drag and drop about 30 gb from the Media Warehouse hard drive.  All my games are on that drive, too.

24 thoughts on “Stayed Up Late

  1. My favorite games were all OS9 – Over the Reich, Marathon Trilogy, etc. The more graphics intensive games I’ve found have little replay value. Oni, some of the Star Wars games – play them once through, and they’re dull. Oh, and Tropico, I enjoyed that one for a while. Sort of like a Cold War era Sim-Banana-Republic. Starship Titanic was dull because it didn’t have enough interactive characters or bots or whatever. I find that I play Whitehead, Klondike Strict, and Canfield a lot in Solitaire Til Dawn. Not that I ever play it until dawn, it’s just easy to open and play while waiting for some other process to complete.

    On the PC, I’ve enjoyed monkeying around with Lego Racers, Need For Speed (I forget which iteration first ran well on XP, but I also enjoyed the Porshe racer subspecies of the game, which ran unreliably on XP), Halo I, and No One Lives Forever.

    Since the purchase of my first folding kayak, things electronic have take a well-deserved back seat. On the other hand, since the shoulder’s been keeping me off the water, and now that we’re making proud parent home videos to DVD of our no longer so little baby boy, I’ve been spending more time around the computer.

    The writing thing’s pretty much what I do all the time, anyway. I express my thoughts and ideas better in writing than I ever have conversationally. Left to myself, I think I produce very little speech relative to my same-sex, same-age peers. And the work I do is to a great extent a variety of technical writing. What I’m saying is, more or less, writing’s something with which I have some facility, and doesn’t require much mental horsepower.

    On the other hand, I’ve got about three relatively short but note-taking and therefore outline intensive projects I’ve been procrastinating on, one of them for at least a year. That’s what I should be doing instead of unwinding with an electronic game of solitaire…

  2. “your literary output”? Do you mind if I ask what sort of writing it is you do?

    My husband is very much a writer, though not much of late. He’s too busy at his day job. Like you, he talks very little, less than almost any other man I’ve known – though with me he talks plenty. I knew him for quite a while as a church friend, but it was his blog that revealed his personality. I actually started having a bit of a crush on him after reading it. He had so much going on beneath that quiet exterior that I was unaware of.

    I, being a woman, talk plenty. But my speach is a lot different than my writing – way less organized, but probably funnier, and definitely more rambling. (Yes, it’s possible.)

  3. I think Rods is talking about my blog posts, as well as my collaboration on the most popular thread at the http://www.foldingkayaks.org forum. You must be logged in as a member to see the threads in the Coffee House conference. Scroll down until you come to Chattanooga Chu Chu. Very funny stuff. I suspect that thread was getting so many hits and tying up so much bandwidth that the admin, MJE, had to hide the Coffee House conference so only registered users could see it. It’s really Rods’ fault for starting that thread.

    At work, I read, synthesize, if that is the word I want, write abstracts of medical and psychological records, interview the subjects of those records, administer tests to them, and write reports containing precis of records, full interview, test results, recommendations, and so forth.

    A slightly better use for my journalism than working as a staff writer for the Stepford News and Guardian, or even a large metropolitan daily. Still, I need to find another gig, this has gotten old, and is a dead end.

  4. I’m coping with the builders putting up new guttering this week; plus, my knee has gone out of alignment again (not a serious injury); now, I’m being blamed for catching a train!

    If I hadn’t found myself in a carriage with the only two people I know who knew what the Almanach de Gotha was (even my long standing academic writer friend had trouble with that) I wouldn’t have stayed so long for such an interesting journey. Actually, I’m still on the train. I think? Or am I here? Totally **** ** after that train ride and now accused by a fellow passenger.

    Chu, chu…

    We could put the train on Facebook for fun and see if anyone else jumps in the carriage…

  5. Well, not blamed for catching a train so much as starting it running and breaking up the furniture to feed the flames that boil the water that make the steam that drives the pistons that move the wheels and propel the train at breakneck speed without regard for the somewhat more delicate, skin on frame human powered modes of locomotion in the immediate area. And of course, by assigning fault to you, I did so to cast mild reproach upon those gently riding at ease on Nickajack lake (figuratively speaking) and looking on in horror as the Chu Chu flew overhead on a trestle bridge without reference to the watery world below.

    I should message MJE to see if he can export that thread in some useable format for posting elsewhere.

    You must live in a gigantic country house. We had workmen in about three years ago to replace the gutters on our modest but charming Stepford brick ranch-style home, and it took them maybe an hour to get it done. Probably miles of ornate genuine copper guttering all around with fishy-headed down-spouts. Ah, to have lands and titles restored and live like that.

    Your academic friend must be a nihilist not have any ken of the tome in question…

  6. Nominated for Sentence of the Year:

    “Well, not blamed for catching a train so much as starting it running and breaking up the furniture to feed the flames that boil the water that make the steam that drives the pistons that move the wheels and propel the train at breakneck speed without regard for the somewhat more delicate, skin on frame human powered modes of locomotion in the immediate area.”

    My academic friend is a psychologist; she’s written on the women’s movement and also on the effect of AIDS in some third world countries. Gives me gravitas just writing that…

    But as for mansions. Two builders have been here all week since Monday (5 days) from 9 am to 5.30/6 pm. And they have not stopped working all the time they’ve been here! The guttering and fascia is being changed from cast iron to plastic (not absolutley sure this is a good thing). And I live in a two bedroom (well one bedroom is now a gym) bungalow (one story to you). A bit larger than the average UK house but small, absolutely small, for America! I can’t see them finishing this week, it’ll run for a few more days.

    In my experience everything takes longer to get done here.

  7. Gravitas indeed. She sounds very earnest, like the fictional daughter of the renowned alienist, that Glossop fellow from the Wodehouse novels. I feel guilty including her in a less than completely serious reply.

    If the cast iron was so difficult to remove, did it need replaced? Are those guys working time and materials, or did they contract to perform the work for a set price to be paid in thirds as the work progresses and finally upon completion. Sounds like they’re milking the hourly. Either that, or they’re replacing all that fancy MI6 surveillance and anti-missile tech and who knows what else that was installed as a condition of your, er, I don’t know how to say this, having been given the option to sign a pledge of secrecy, and so forth.

    Maybe I should see about a fine arts degree in writing? It couldn’t be any more useless than my journalism/mass-comm degree.

  8. Oh, since you’re looking for a useless degree, let me make a recommendation. My husband has his degree in theatre. He’s got an incredible mind and delivers produce for a living!!

  9. No way – you guys have a bookstore, yes? Is he an actor?

    Anyway, produce is evocative of the nurturing warmth of the earth. Delivering it is probably better than delivering pizza.

    I have delivered pizzas, but the best part of that job was the kitchen comedy workshop. There’s no humor like kitchen humor.

  10. Bookstore – well, yes. A small one (about 6020 in inventory) on-line sales only. A tertiary income.

    Actor – well – yes and no. When he was in college (I didn’t know him then) he was a theatre major and produced and acted a one man production which won several awards. He acted in other productions as well, including the Mikado. As I understand it, he was mainly interested in the production end. From what I know of him, I suspect he’s a pretty good actor as well, and an excellent writer, when he does it. He’s got a fantastic voice, as in speaking voice. He should be on the radio, like Garrison Keillor (sp?). Of course, it’s more difficult to make a living in radio than delivering produce.

    Delivering produce – nothing like delivering pizza, except there’s a steering wheel involved. He drives a pretty big truck and delivers pallets of stuff to restaurants and schools, etc. two days a week. The rest of the week he jockeys a fork-lift around a warehouse sized refrigerator. This is how we, Lord willing and so far, continue to make the house payment.

    I worked in a few restaraunts in my younger days, back in the eighties in Orange County. One place I worked for a while was very upscale. I was a lowly hostess. Everyone was terrified of the chef. I went throught the kitchen one day and the chef screamed at me to get out of the way. So I did. Later I found out I was his favorite…because I didn’t cry when he yelled at me. I guess I was the only one. He always treated me warmly after that. That’s my kitchen story, well, one of them.

  11. I have to be fair to the roofing guys, they are working incredibly hard and don’t stop. It’s six days now. They’re even working today, a Saturday. But I think houses are often constructed differently here. The guttering definitely needing replacing; just before Christmas I had water seeping through my office window (the former dining room).

    But I’m having to be here in attendance all day as there is no outside powerpoint. Hopefully it’ll be finished by Tuesday.

    Laurie’s online bookstore sounds interesting.

  12. Laurie, is your bookstore accessible as an independent site, or are you a vendor through something like Amazon?

    I usually want to respond to shouting with violence of some sort so for sure wouldn’t have lasted a shift in the kitchen you described. I grew up in the Palos Verdes, San Pedro area (SP to PV to SP again), but didn’t get to Orange County much. Especially to eat. I briefly acquainted with a young woman (Jeannie) whose parents (they shall remain nameless) reportedly owned a nicer restaurant in Downey. I used to know a guy named Mark Pollock who asked the rhetorical question, “Where isn’t Downey?”

    On your blog you mention purchasing another computer. Maybe you could persuade your husband to podcast some book reviews for your online store, possibly including readings? Heck, I’d listen.

    Rods, it sounds like they’re doing a lot more than just replacing facia and gutters. We had to have sheet-metal company come out install flashing around the base of our house’s chimney because water kept seeping in. Providentially not near anything electrical.

    Maybe your observations will lead to choreographing dance involving ladders and carrying things? A rain-gutter dance?

  13. I know nothing of Downey, ‘cept it was inland, and probably still is. I grew up in Hawthorne, so I know PV and briefly dated a guy who lived there when I was in high school. I went to a private high school in Burbank and headed off to OC for a few years after high school. LOOOONG story, all of it, and interesting only to the type of people who watch day-time television.

    We sell through Alibris. Our seller name is RPM Books, out of Chico, CA. I think you can browse our selection by clicking on our name a few times. I’ve never tried it. Our selection is, well, eclectic. We major on unique and rare items (and, of course, whatever books people just give us for free ’cause they don’t want them any more). When you have limited storage space, you try not to waste it on thousands of $1 items.

  14. Alibris: one of my closest friends who died three years ago sold antiquarian books on Alibris (he was an actor who also wrote on Russian art).

    No, really Chris, they’re just replacing the guttering and fascia. Things take time here. You’d probably mind boggle over the cost as everything is cheaper in America – I am so envious. They’ll be finished tommorrow. Peace…

  15. Hey, Chris, that Anonymous post is me! And this one too by the looks of it. Oh, well, looks like I’ll have to resign myself in or something!
    Rods

    • I knew that! WordPress requires me to sign in again periodically, too.

      Some of the Alibris vendors carry copies of books I loaned to friends years ago and never got back. Thought they were irreplaceable, now I’ll have to begin justifying the expense of replacing them.

  16. I was a little freaked out that I’d used the word “maybe” twice in comment #14. It means something. It means I need an editor. Why doesn’t WordPress alert me to these errors of style? And self-absorption, it should warn me about that, too.

  17. Okay, so I mentioned to my husband about the podcast thing. His eyes lit right up. Then, yesterday, a lady at church told us she’d been telling her husband how Paul should be an audio-book guy. So now he’s thinking of doing a podcast, beginning with short stories, and maybe some discussions on literature. And then he can record his next church history classes. But we have to look into whatever techology we’ll need. It may be awhile, but it sure is an exciting prospect. Thanks for the suggestion.

    • You know, I’ve got that PowerMac I’ve replaced. I’ve had some trouble with system freeze, which I think is a software problem. I was planning to zero out all the stuff on the boot drive and do a clean install of OS X.3.9, which is the latest iteration I have for that machine. It’s a Mirror Drive Door dual 1ghz G4 with 1gb of ram, two firewire, two usb ports, a creaky slow DVD burner, but room for four hard drives and two optical drives. I can’t give this thing away to anyone around here. I’ll ask my wife if I can give it to you all for the price of shipping – you’ll have to get a monitor for it, but that way Paul would have a dedicated box for his audio/visual work.

  18. You’re speaking Technese, and I think it’s Mac-speak. I only know what the words mean – letters with numbers are completely meaningless to me. (I’m a hardware person – an assembler – I don’t get the software talk.) I’ll have Paul take a look when he get home from work. He knows a bit more than I do, and his dad is a real computer guy – runs the machines for L.A. County Fire – so he can always ask him. But whatever comes of it, thanks for even thinking of it. BTW I e-mailed your blog address to Paul yesterday so he could start following, so you may hear from him sooner or later.

  19. I talked to Paul and he’s entirely interested. Let us know if your wife is okay with it. I’ve got an e-mail link on the profile page of my blog if you want to take the discussion off the comment thread. Also there’s a link to Paul’s livejournal, in case you’re interested, in the blogs I follow under the title “dispatches from the valley of the shadow of death”. He’s also got the whole MySpace and Facebook thing going and probably has links to those as well.

Leave a Reply

