Seventy-Six

We took him back to the pediatric surgeon yesterday because the bump on his brow, previously identified as a dermoid cyst that had apparently resolved back around Thanksgiving, has become appreciably more pronounced.  The doctor recommended surgery, and we have scheduled it.  Day surgery.  The doctor said he didn’t see anything that caused him to expect complications.  He said that should any problem arise during surgery, the team has everything necessary to contend with any (and here, I thought of the word, contingency, but the aged physician said) happenstance.

The clerk at the desk gave us a set of feeding instructions to begin the day before surgery.  Scheduled it for the latter part of next month.

5 thoughts on “Seventy-Six

  1. Dreadful news. And worrisome. Personally I hugely misstrust the Ivory Tower of healthcare, and esspecially day surgery is something nobody wants to get involved with, but I know they do good things too.
    I just hope that little 76 doesn’t have to suffer too much pain, and I wish you and your Cautious Lady all the strenght you need in the hard times ahead.

  2. Thank you.

    Because much of my time is spent interviewing those who have been treated by a wide variety of medical practitioners, as well as reading and synthesizing to abstract medical records, I tend to share your general distrust. I don’t know whether you all in Netherlands are stuck with socialized medicine or not. I’m guessing the socialized version is worse than what we’ve got here.

    On the other hand, when I was employed investigating child abuse and neglect, some of the children on my caseload were cared for by the hospital to which we’ve taken Seventy-Six. I was consistently and favorably impressed by the quality of care given to infants and small children with terrible injuries. So I am reasonably confident our little guy will get better than adequate care.

    But yeah, this is a little scary for us.

  3. My children have always received exceptional health care. This was even the case during the times when they’ve had MediCal – possibly even more-so. It seemed like the practitioners who were willing to care for the more impoverished also seemed to be the most caring. I don’t know that it’s always the case, but it was for us. The discovery of Tony’s Poland’s Anomaly launched an aggressive battery of tests to determine whether he would have any other complications. (He did not.) When he had repeated ear infections he received excellent care, and tubes. Our local hospital recently treated him for appendicitis. We were uninsured when we walked in. They treated us like gold and set us up with a social worker who helped get him MediCal.

    I say all that to say that there is tremendous compassion for children in the health care industry – at least there has been in my experience. I pray your experience will be similar and that all goes smoothly for you and your little one.

Leave a Reply

