Work Day

Saturday I spent most of the day trimming bushes, clearing away the resultant horticultural debris, scraping and sanding a window, assembling my single-seater Pouch E-68 kayak, attempting to repair two vinyl floatation bags, discovering an impenetrable plug has developed in my tube of otherwise malleable (therefore presumably usable) Aquaseal, and priming that one window and four others previously scraped and sanded.

Let me say that I hate doing yard work. Hate having to touch the plants. Hate the bugs. What I didn’t mind was the fragrance of cherry blossoms (three or four trees blooming in the yard), being in the sun, the smell of bug-spray.

Abrasive bummer

Abrasion bummer

Setting up the boat I noticed the triangular patch at the cockpit’s fore-end has worn through the outer layer of PVC. I don’t remember seeing this last year. I guess it must have resulted from the coaming rubbing against the patch during use or transport. Certainly it could not have occurred while the skin was folded up in the ancient vinyl Folbot bag that’s been repurposed for the Pouch’s use.

Each of four bags purchased from the manufacturer developed leaks like this.  The first set of two the company replaced in good faith.  After the second set failed, I decided I wouldn't hassle the company further.

Each of four bags purchased from the manufacturer developed leaks like this. The first set of two the company replaced in good faith. After the second set failed, I decided I wouldn't hassle the company further.

I managed to smear some vinyl adhesive (because I couldn’t get past the Aquaseal plug in the tube mentioned supra) into the gaps on two bags, and plan to check on the repairs’ efficacy this afternoon. Also this afternoon, I’ve got to finally set up a computer and get it ready for shipping, and make a DVD. It’s unlike me to be this busy on a weekend.

2 thoughts on “Work Day

  1. I don’t know how you feel about wearing gloves, but I’ve found that once you’re used to them, they make all kinds of manual labor easier. I always put on a pair for yard work, and never do any dishes or housecleaning without them. They make every job less yucky, and less treacherous if there are insects involved. I clean a lovely home in a rural area every week. Her dogs open the doors all the time and, of course, leave them that way. I never know what I’m going to find. Wednesday I caught a decent sized lizard with my gloved hands in her bathroom. With my gloves I can pick up the dead mice and birds the cats drag in, and any number of other disgusting things.

  2. After I stuck my hand with thorn from some unknown plant’s cut branch, I put on a pair of canvas and nubby rubber grip-spot gloves left over from cleaning the rain-gutters last year. Gave me the super-strength I needed to deal with the yardwork.

    Yesterday, for the first time ever, I wore impermeable rubber or pvc gloves while painting – I was going to fish out the bits of ‘skin’ that’d formed in the paint can, but wound up working around that crud. Kept the gloves on, anyway while painting. Sweaty, but not really a problem.

    Since a camping trip to Lake Watauga a couple of years ago, a pair of gloves has been a part of my kit – sickening the stuff that morons throw into a fire pit.

    My wife and I never use gloves for housework. I’m not sure why not. You’d think those dogs would eat the stuff they bring into the house.

    I inflated the yellow floatation bags yesterday, and they held air most of the day. I will check them again today to see if they’ve still got air.

Leave a Reply

