Selling a Car, Other Stuff

Why?

Can somebody tell me why every one with a .ru web address is a spammer?  Sort of a mirroricity thing to the observation about the ‘religion’ of terrorists.

Selling a Car

Saturday afternoon we sold Caution-Lady’s white 1993 Volvo 940 turbo sedan.  We’d had the car since 2002, at which time I was working as an underpaid reporter for perhaps the sorriest publication in the American Southeast.  When we set out shopping, Caution-Lady said, “I don’t want a white car – I don’t like white cars.”

Our shopping budget was $4,000.00, but we wound up paying about $6,000.00 which included tax, registration, and so forth.  The expense stretched our household finances, but we managed it.  When purchased, the car had 107,000 miles on the odometer – the standard break-in period for a 4-cylinder redblock Volvo engine and drive-train.   My wife absolutely loved the car.  I didn’t drive it much, but every time I got behind its wheel and drove it to the gas station, the mechanic’s garage, or on family trips, I found myself thinking, “This is a great car….I’m glad we spent the money to buy it.”

Well, if you’ve got even the sense to say and spell your name, you ought to know that the purchase of a car for daily driving is an expense and not an investment.  It typically loses value over time unless some disaster of biblical proportions destroys all the other cars of that model year, or unless that same thing happens over a very long period of time, or unless some half-witted administration in Washington implements a “Cash-for-Clunkers” program that removes a large number of good used cars from the marketplace.

The white car’s original bill of sale (found among its Volvo issued set of ownership publications in the glove compartment) listed a sale price when new as, if I recall this correctly, $22,9xx.xx.  In 1993 dollars.  I think Cadillac sedans were selling for about that at the time.  I believe that year I was driving a 1979 Volkswagen Rabbit diesel coupe and grateful to have it.  Our selling price for the car about 17 years later was $1,500.00 – a reasonable mid-range price based upon the car’s condition, mileage (158,000) clean Carfax, and a look at Kelley Blue Book, Edwards, and NADA valuations for that model car in clean condition.

My wife is a teacher, and in 2002 taught in her class the boy who, with his family, bought the car yesterday.  Although she said she felt sadness about the car’s sale, she said the fact that it had gone to a good home that would care for it made the loss more bearable.

Last week, we’d had it out to the garage to get a sun-visor replaced, driver’s side carpet replaced (it was torn-up when we bought the car and we never seriously thought about having the problem corrected), and a new fuel-pump relay (a known weak spot for these cars – we’d had a new one a few years ago, but they typically don’t hold up well in the southern heat of Middle Tennessee).  The weekend previously, I’d fueled and washed the car, vacuumed it out, dusted all the dust-gathering surfaces, cleaned the door-jambs, cleaned the wheels, dressed the tires.   Even after a week in the mechanic’s yard, the 940T looked good.  I felt a sense of loss as I drove the car back to our house thinking it might be for the last time.  I thought, “This is a great car.”

Feats of Comparative Urination

It may surprise some of you to know that I correspond with three or four groups of people on the Internet.  I used to find some pleasure (because a lot of people are dolts who will not apply their minds to issues) arguing about stuff like theology, the feminization of what I think of as a variety of small “c” cultural christianity that passes for the church in North America, comfortable and country-club orientation of much of that classification, and so forth.  While I still like exchanging ideas about boats, cars, garden tractors, theology, and culture, I’m a lot less het-up about issues of ultimate and eternal significance.  Probably I’ve already said everything I have to say about most of it, and I recognize I have a lot still to learn.

So at one of these online communities (and I’ve personally met a number of these folks and genuinely like them), when discussions devolve into arguments, I have lately refrained from commenting.  I do want to make clear, however, the following:

  1. I don’t believe God’s will includes my submitting to some kind of transformative experience that ends in my having developed what the character Mark on Ugly Betty might refer to as spiritual “lady parts.”
  2. While I agree with most of what Viola and the pollster (whose influence clearly kept Viola honest vis-a-vis their co-authored book) had to say in Pagan Christianity, I don’t think organic church requires the purchase of any more of Viola’s books or attending his conferences, or developing spiritual “lady parts.”
  3. One of the most annoying heresies is the notion that one can effectively forgive oneself.

Tool

I saw these photos juxtaposed on the Drudge Report this afternoon and spontaneously quipped, “Putin’s cool, Obama’s a tool.”

Obama v. Putin

Putin's cool, Obama's a tool

Just trying to keep it classy here, people….

4 thoughts on “Selling a Car, Other Stuff

  1. Hello, Really like your blog!

    I guess I was expecting the car story to end with how “the boy” trashed the car in some way, do you know what happened to it?

    I like your sense of humor, thanks!

    • Thank you!

      I think the boy is extremely responsible. His parents made him contact us, made him pay for the car, allowed him to make the decision (although they helped him determine whether or not the vehicle was suitable), and encouraged him to look at other cars, too. I’m hoping the boy and his family maintain and improve the 940 (some great aftermarket upgrades at http://www.ipdusa.com).

      Although I like the older 740s better, the 940 is a great car, although even with the turbo-charger it feels a bit underpowered at 168 horse. Funny, my 1987 740 (which was in near perfect mechanical shape and had 315,000 miles on the odometer when I sold it) never felt particularly underpowered at 114 horsepower, but I suspect it was better engineered and balanced.

      I saw on your blog that you and your family went to a Little House on the Prairie inspired live production. My wife loves those stories (and the TV series), too.

  2. I do not even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was great. I don’t know who you are but certainly you are going to a famous blogger if you aren’t already 😉 Cheers!

  3. Okay, I owe Obama an apology – I look as much like a tool while bicycling as Obama does – it’s the helmet. They look like pumpkin shells or spaceships strapped on to the noggin. But a brain-injury’s to be avoided if possible. Also, cycling’s fun. Who knows, maybe Obama’s smile is genuine?

Leave a Reply

