Shimano Biopace & MKS Lambda Pedal Test Drive

Biopace-&-Lambda-Pedal

The Shimano 600 Biopace crankset I bought from Old Bikes Belong arrived last week, so Thursday I dropped off the bike, pedals, and crankset at Luke’s house.  I picked it up yesterday, but didn’t have much chance to ride because my wife was hosting a ladies’ euchre party at our house.  Although I managed to ride around “the block” once, I spent most of the evening playing with Seventy-Six and trying to keep him occupied so he wouldn’t pester my wife for attention.  We had our supper in the sunroom, ran around the yard with a cyalume stick after dark, the boy pestered his mom, we watched a Veggie Tales movie, and so forth.

This morning, I went for a ride.  Not a lot of hills, today, but I covered a lot of ground and took my camera along.  I took some pictures of the bike leaned up against a tree.

DrivetrainRazesa-HandlebarsShimano-600-rear-delrailleurShimano-600-PartsRazesa-Rack-View

My leg muscles worked differently using the off-round chainrings, but by the end of my ride, I was maintaining my pace more easily than I had using the Stronglight crankset’s round rings.  I felt the workout at my inner thighs nearer their, er, ventral aspects than has been the case with other bikes I’ve ridden.  The gears shifted differently and a little smoother than they had with the Stronglight crankset; I’m still getting used to it, but it’s not a problem.

The Razesa’s front wheel quick-release appears to be original.

Front-Release-1Front-Release-2

This morning, I wore a pair of cycling shoes with very stiff soles.  The last couple of times I wore them, they bounced off the pedals each time the bike’s wheels struck some irregularity in the road’s surface.  Today, the shoes bounced on the newly installed, axe-head-looking MKS Lambda pedals, but didn’t come off them.  After a stop, the pedals were easy to find even though the bike-shoes are too stiff to feel much through their soles.  Because the pedals are long, I didn’t have to worry too much about finding them with the balls of my feet, but when I made the effort, it was easy.  By the end of my ride, I had no foot soreness, but it is unclear whether that is due to having worn the bike shoes or to the pedals.  I’d planned to ride again this afternoon with my running shoes, but God sent a thunderstorm to interfere with my plans.  Maybe it’ll quit this evening before it’s too late to ride.

Bike-ShoesPart of my ride took me through an industrial park where I took pictures at a cemetery where I observed a strange offering of money upon the grave marker of one Malinda Rhoton, according to the inscription, once a Faithful Member of a Magic Circle.  Someone had left stacks of quarters on top of the dead woman’s marker.

Citizens-CemeteryCemetery-MarkersRhoton-Money-OfferingIndustrial-Park-View

I also rode past and photographed a memorial on Wattendorf Highway, then later past a tree farm that looked like woods, to me.  After that, I rode home.

Camp-ForrestTree-Farm

Leave a Reply

