Garage Sale Camera and Other Items

This morning after spending an hour or so with about ten guys from our congregation, I drove home (because I’d overslept and didn’t have time to ride my bike to the restaurant) stopping at a flea market, a pawn shop, and three garage/yard sales.  The flea market and pawn shop didn’t have anything I wanted.  At one garage sale, I bought a dinosaur book, a dinosaur toy, a robot toy (Eve from the Wally film); at another garage sale, I bought a Panasonic Lumix FZ7 digital camera, and the guy kind of threw in a two-man tent.

The Lumix uses SD cards, and we’ve got a number of them.  Caution-Lady’s Nikon Coolpix L18 has turned out to be a real disappointment – ineffective flash, grainy images.  I wonder whether our son has dropped it at some time or other.  The camera’s so bad that I’d like to take a No. 3 wood to it.  The Lumix came with a spare battery, a charger, original software, original (ha – crazy small but true) 16 mb SD card, box, and so forth.  When I got it home, I tried a 4 gb SD card, but it wouldn’t work, so I think 2 gb’s about the limit for that camera.  It’s an annoyance, but the camera dates from about 2006 and is otherwise, at 6 megapixels, a far superior camera to the 8 megapixel Nikon it replaces.

Toyota-Corona-&-Waves

I took several pictures inside the house to test the flash feature and found it better than the Nikon’s.  Also, the camera’s shutter speed is more adjustable and faster than the other digital cameras I’ve owned.  Finally, this is the first digital camera I’ve had since a late 1990’s Olympus 1.3 megapixel DL-Something capable of producing a TIFF image.  The image above is one of those experiments with the flash; it’s something I drew with oil pastels on the back of a Lucky’s Market paper grocery bag in maybe 1980 or ‘81.  That car’s a 1969 Toyota Corona and one of those surfboards is 9’6” Jacobs longboard with a red stripe lengthwise to either the left or right of the stringer – I can’t remember now which it was.

Leave a Reply

