A Cold Late Morning Ride

I followed a gravel road through a vacant lot toward the railroad tracks.  The road ended behind an envelope factory - you can see rail cars through the brush.

I followed a gravel road through a vacant lot toward the railroad tracks. The road ended behind an envelope factory – you can see rail cars through the brush.

Late this morning I rode through Stepford’s alleys, old neighborhoods, commercial developments, and industrial waste places.  I needed exercise and wanted to test ride the Gary 2 bars with level drops.  Stupidly, at ten o’clock I forgot to bring along a Larabar or something else to eat, so I only rode about 15 miles on a bowl of oatmeal and 15 or 20 grapes eaten much earlier in the morning.  It was cold today, compared to the temperatures we’ve been enjoying here in Southern Middle Tennessee – about 36 degrees, Fahrenheit, and windy, during my ride.  I only took three pictures today because I’ve previously photographed most of the other interesting sights along my route.

Although the bars look strange and the levers oddly placed, this arrangement is for me more comfortable than the more typically road-bikish bar tilt I started with.  The right shift lever didn’t respond every time to downshifts into harder gears.  I’m not sure whether that’s because I couldn’t feel what I was doing while wearing insulated full-finger gloves, or because the longer cabling required to reach the levers on these bars results in slacker shifting.  Maybe something to correct with a simple adjustment.

I think I’m growing to hate the Continental Tour Ride tires on normal pavement, but they excel on muddy, gravely hardpacked surfaces, grass, and bad pavement.

Here's where the pavement ended today.

Here’s where the pavement ended today.

Leave a Reply

