Community Service Work

A scenic stretch of road for trash pick-up

A scenic stretch of road for trash pick-up

I like doing community service work and, for the record, have never been court or otherwise ordered to it.  One of the things I like best about my membership in the local bicycle club is that it gives me the opportunity to serve the community by participating in various projects.  Sunday, I got to spend the afternoon cleaning up roadside trash along a picturesque highway just outside of town.  Sure, I got my foot wet with muddy ditchwater and skewered one of my hands with thorns, but it did me good to get outside and do a little work.  I would say that 90 percent of the trash I picked up was food and beverage containers – the contents go into the motorist’s mouths and the bottles, cans, and wrappers go out the car windows.

It was pretty out there, and here are a couple of pictures.  Click on them to see full-sized images.

Cornfield recently combined

Cornfield recently combined

Barns in the distance - same cornfield seen over the hedge

Barns in the distance – same cornfield seen over the hedge

Fence, tree, and cornfield

Fence, tree, and cornfield

Leave a Reply

